Make Something Monday

19 Mar

So for my nephews blessing I made him a blanket and stitched his name and date of blessing in the binding and it did not turn out so good but I’ve never done anything like that so I guess I can’t be too mad.

All I did was take two yards of fabric, wrong sides together and I very sloppily made my own satin binding. I won’t be doing that ever again or at least not for a long time. šŸ™‚ It was so hard for me, but anyway, I followed this tutorial for the binding, but it didn’t turn out as pretty as the last one, because I measured everything wrong so I had to put the binding farther on the blanket. Anyway I think instead of making this a tutorial because it’s pretty messy, I’ll just share some pictures.

Here’s a couple shots of how it turned out.

I told you it was messy. šŸ™‚

Ā 

Please excuse my lack of make-up and my overall rumpledness (like my new word) from sitting hunched over a sewing machine for hours.

Well there’s my nephews new blanket for his blessing. Whew… That was not an easy task, because of that satin binding. It really will be a very long time before I attempt something like that again. If you decide to tackle it, or have done it before, let me know how it went for you or what tricks you used to make the experience a lot better. šŸ™‚

Enjoy your week!

2 Responses to “Make Something Monday”

  1. Britika March 22, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    hey it turned out lovely! he is such a lucky nephew to have a warm new beautiful blanket, amazing job especially for your first try at the stiching

    • nallyh March 22, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Oh thanx! It really did not turn out how I imagined it, but oh well…

Leave a Reply

