Make Something Monday

13 Feb

I’m continuing on with the the quilt so lets move onto Part Two.

Supplies for Part Two

Batting Crib Size
Fabric for Backing and I forgot to write down how much I bought, just make sure it’s bigger than the quilt size.
Quilting Pins (unless you purchase batting that has the glue in it. I failed to notice if mine had it and so I pinned.)

Step One

Lay your quilt out just so you make sure you have your squares in the right order. Then start on the first row and grab the first two squares, put right sides together and sew up the edge just like you did the strips.

Continue with the squares in that row until you they are all connected and you have a pretty little row like this.

Step Two

Sew the next row and next row and so on until you have 5 rows.

Step Three

Lay row one on row two, right sides together and sew down the side. Continue to connect all five rows until you have one side of your lovely quilt!

Sorry, holding it up was a bad idea, the light kind of made it see through, but here is the finished one side. Ta Da!

Step Four

Lay your back fabric right side facing the floor. Lay your batting down and your quilt top, right side facing up. It’s like a fabric sandwich.

Pin away! I actually don’t know how much you need to pin, I’m betting I’ll need more, but I don’t actually know how much you need. Just enough to hold it together when your sewing your design on the top.

Well I’m hoping to have the finished quilt next Monday so look for the final product then. I’m pretty psyched! I’m loving how it’s turning out so far. It’s pretty small but I knew I wanted a small quilt in case I totally ruined it. 🙂 Maybe next time, if this finishes well, I’ll have the guts to make a nice big one for our bed.

Anyway, if your attempting this with me, good luck and feel free to ask me any questions you have along the way. I’ll try my best to answer them for you.

Happy Sewing!

 

 

2 Responses to “Make Something Monday”

  1. Britika February 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    this is turning out so great! I can’t wait to see the final product, your getting some mad sewing skills for being a beginer 🙂

    • nallyh February 21, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      I try, I’m slow at it though and I have to check myself a lot, but thank you!!!!

Leave a Reply

