Maelstrom’s Twin

4 Feb

About a year and a half ago, my husband and I found a little furry black puppy hand puppet at Ikea and weirdly enough we bought it thinking Aladdin just might like it. Understatement of the year, he LOVED it! It became his child and his nemesis. It was the strangest thing, he would carry that puppet around with him everywhere. He’d carry it over to his food dish, onto the couch and into bed with us. Then the moment you put your hand in the puppet, it was instant death. He wanted that little puppet dead.

Seeing him carry that little puppet around was seriously the cutest thing ever! Don’t ask how or where we came up with it, but the puppet somehow got the name of Maelstrom. Over time we would say “Aladdin, whereeeeeee’s Maelstrom and he would run and get it. If it wasn’t in the little basket of toys we have for him then he would hunt it down until he got it. It was his everything, next to mommy and daddy of course.

So when Aladdin and my husband and I left for Charlotte, North Carolina, we brought Maelstrom with us because 6 months without the little guy and healing from surgery was too hard on my little baby. Of course tragedy struck us about half way into the trip. Maelstrom was lost. I searched high and low for that little hand puppet and he was nowhere to be seen. So we decided to never mention his name again. It was so sad. When we got back to Austin, I would sometimes find Aladdin digging through his toys basket only to come up empty handed. I don’t really know what he was searching for but I suspect it was Maelstrom because he digs for toys all the time and won’t leave his basket until he gets what he’s looking for, so seeing that sad face after digging through his toy basket and walking away with nothing was sort of heart breaking.

Anyway long story short, yesterday my husband and I went to Ikea in search for a desk for our office and I casually mentioned we should check for another puppet. I knew a year and a half later all the toys would be new and they wouldn’t have any of the old stock they used to have, but hey, I was feeling like a guilty momma. So we entered the children’s department and sticking out of a pile of new bright fruit and vegetable stuffed toys was a little black face. Seriously my heart skipped a beat. There was one twin Maelstrom in the whole children’s department of Ikea. I’m not playing with you, there was only one. I don’t even think it was supposed to be there.

I can’t even explain how happy we were to find this little puppet!

If we’re this crazy about our puppy and his toys I don’t even want to know what kind of parents we’ll be. ha ha ha

Just let me tell you, the reunion between Aladdin and Maelstrom was epic. If you thought Homeward Bound was heartfelt you should have seen these two running for each other across the living room. I kind of felt like I was watching Peter and Shadow reunite again. Yep, I’m in my mid-twenties and referencing Homeward Bound, but what can I say, the end still makes me cry. 🙂

BFF

14 Responses to “Maelstrom’s Twin”

  1. callie February 4, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    SO precious!! I’m glad you found a replacement!!

  2. Heather Belle February 5, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    Cutest. Thing. Ever. Haha this is just too sweet. So glad you found a new Maelstrom!

    http://ahopelessnotebook.blogspot.com/

    • nallyh February 6, 2012 at 3:32 am #

      Thanx!!! and thanx for such a sweet comment! 🙂 We’re so glad we found him. We have such a happy puppy now!

  3. Britika February 5, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    haha this is adorable. Love the picture, and so sweet, i wish i could have seen the reunion

    • nallyh February 6, 2012 at 3:29 am #

      It rocked, totally epic!

  4. dannelle@nestenterprises February 5, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    True love knows no bounds!
    happiness…
    dannelle@nestenterprises

    • nallyh February 6, 2012 at 3:27 am #

      🙂 True true!

  5. Elle February 6, 2012 at 6:01 am #

    awwww this is the cutest thing ever =) beautiful dog!!

    • nallyh February 7, 2012 at 3:54 am #

      Thank you so much! 🙂

  6. Hady Sorvillo February 6, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    beautiful photos, I really liked your puppy. His blog is a cute, come back more often, I promise

    • nallyh February 7, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Thank you! Your very kind!

  7. ramsey February 9, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    Oh me geez…that is wayyy too cute! I am a sucker for puppies. And stuffed animals. Aaaand I’m five.

    • nallyh February 9, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      ha ha ha I hear ya, sometimes I feel about five also, with the homeward bound reference and everything.

Leave a Reply

