Make Something Monday

16 Jan

Well, the quilt isn’t done yet, I’m moving slower than I had hoped. Allergies got me real good this year.

However, my mother bought this cute little pre-made quilt that had unfinished edges so I took up the challenge and used binding for my first time and sewed mitered corners. I decided for my Make Something Monday that I would teach those of you, if there are any of you who don’t know how to use double bias tape and do mitered corners.

Well here it goes:

Step One

 

Open your bias tape all the way up and pin the edge of the bias tape right up to the edge of the quilt.

Also please excuse my half painted nails. Yikes, I need to redo those.

Step Two

Sew down the closest line to the edge of the bias tape/quilt edge.

Step Three

Okay, here goes the trickiest part. As your approaching the corner with your sewing machine stop just a little bit before the edge and take your needle out. Fold the bias tape diagonally back away from the blanket and press it down with your fingers creasing it a little.

Step Four

Right after pressing the little crease fold back over making sure the bias tape is parallel to the raw quilt edge. If you can see in the right side of the picture, the lines are going in different directions now, we’ve turned a corner and now you’ll put the needle back in and start sewing down the same ditch/line that is closest to the edge.

Step Five

Once you’ve sewed all the way around the quilt, this is how it should look. Everything is attached and the bias tape is all on the top side of the quilt.

Step Six

Simple enough, fold the bias tape over the quilt. The corners may take a little finessing. Just kind of pull and work them into place. It only takes a minute for them to take shape.

Step Seven

Sadly I failed to take a picture of this next step but it’s easy. Just fold the bias tape back to it’s original pre-packaged state on the back side of the quilt and pin in place from the top. Then what most people say is from the top side stitch in the  ditch which is right where the bias tape meets the quilt, but I actually just sewed right on the bias tape to make sure I caught the underside and didn’t mess up. If this doesn’t make sense I do have a final picture of my mitered corners and you can see how far in I stitched on the tape.

Here’s the final picture.

I’m pretty sure this sounds much more confusing than it actually is so as I keep moving along with my quilt I will try to get better pictures so hopefully we can all master binding and mitered corners together. If you’ve been doing this forever, please excuse my non technical language and any tips would help.

It really is much easier than it sounds, so don’t worry I will provide us with much better pictures in the near future.

Good luck if you attempt it and let me know how it goes.

3 Responses to “Make Something Monday”

  1. Britika January 16, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    Oooh this is turning out beautifully! You did a wonderful job! Now I only hope i can replicate what you’ve just shown us, thanks for sharing 🙂

    • nallyh January 17, 2012 at 4:08 am #

      No problem and if you are totally confused I’m trying to make a better tutorial for it real soon! Good Luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Make Something Monday « Project: Do What You Love - March 19, 2012

    […] ever again or at least not for a long time. It was so hard for me, but anyway, I followed this tutorial for the binding, but it didn’t turn out as pretty as the last one, because I measured […]

Leave a Reply

