What Kind Of Workout

4 Jan

All the family has gone home, the festivities are over and the resolutions must begin. I’m excited for this and ready to start but I must admit, losing 15 lbs seems a daunting task. In plain english I love my chocolate and eating at yummy restaurants and cutting these things down to the very minimum will be hard. So I’ve decided to do a little research on some workout routines and get started quick! The longer I wait the harder this will be.

Here’s a few of the weight loss classes I’ve found that seem fun and upbeat. I have to have something entertaining or this will never work. Sadly, I’m not one of those people that can just put the ear buds in and start running. That is not me and never has been me, so hopefully one of these will be my lucky charm!

I was thinking either Zumba. I’ve only attended one Zumba class and it was a lot of fun, but I totally have two left feet, so that was an embarrassing situation, however it definitely kept me moving and enjoying myself. Bonus, also I’ve heard nothing but great things about the amount of calories burned per class!

Also, I was looking at The Bar Method. I’ve never done this or known anyone whose done it, but I’ve been reading a lot and it seems to have a GREAT success rate, it’s definitely much slower than most things I like but I love that ballet is apart of it’s routine! It’s nothing like Zumba, it’s slow intense muscle sculpting and like I said has ballet incorporated into a lot of it, hence the name Bar Method. If I’m correct you spend like half the class at the bar and the other half on mats. It looks graceful and lovely, however its attached with a very hefty price so I might just look into some of the videos. Although it does look like a great way to lose some weight.

Now this last one looks a lot like the Bar Method, but the price is WAY better because it’s just a book and you follow along. However, I’m not sure if that will keep me motivated working out alone. Anyway it’s called The Physique 57 Solution.

I actually cannot tell you if its good or not, I just barely found out about this one but I’m intrigued. It has 14 days of bar based stretches/practices to help achieve a lean dancers body. Not sure how that will go with someone who has hips and a booty but I just love the very nature of workouts incorporating any kind of dance. It’s wonderful! I might run by Barnes and Noble today and give this a brief read through and see if its worth it.

I want to figure this out in the next two days, so I can get moving. Until then, my husband and I are probably going to start walking again. Last year we got on this crazy walking kick and started walking anywhere from 2-6 miles every night. I lost like 5 lbs doing just that. Walking… So I will definitely be doing this again, probably 2-3 times a week, with some sort of workout in between.

Have there been any workouts you’ve loved? Anything work miracles for you? I’d love to hear about any successes you’ve had and what you did? Keeps me motivated and you’ll most likely teach me something brand new!

6 Responses to “What Kind Of Workout”

  1. clara turbay January 4, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    I like the way you show your inspirations!

    http://paquetevistasbien.blogspot.com

  2. Eleanor January 5, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    I do Jillian Michaels Shred, Boost Metabolism, and Yoga Meltdown. I love the way she kicks my butt! Good luck!

    • nallyh January 5, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      Thanks Eleanor, I definitely want to look into that now! 🙂

  3. Britika January 6, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    I find little things help alot like park at the farthest end of the grocery parking lot to make your self walk more, or who doesn’t love walking the mall, (if you don’t have one, borrow a bike) then try taking your bike to the places you love to go, its like working out with out actually working out not sure how that will work out with where you live. Always take the stairs. Honestly, I’m pretty bad though, I always look for shortcuts, but good luck. Also your bar method workout sounds freakin awesome, i’m interested in looking into it!

    • nallyh January 7, 2012 at 12:15 am #

      Great ideas! All the little stuff adds up, I’ll have to remember that when I’m getting ready to park somewhere! Thanx!

Leave a Reply

