Coming Or Going

23 Nov

This past weekend my husband took me to the Charlotte airport overlook. It was really awesome, there’s not too many overlooks that I know of that look right over the runway. It was really cold out and I pulled an enormous blanket from the trunk of our car and snuggled in it while we watched planes come and go for a bit.

There’s something about airplanes that make me a bit nostalgic or maybe a little sad as I watch them go. I know they also represent happiness, bringing love one’s closer, but for some reason it’s a little saddening watching them take off and dissapear into the blue sky.

It got me to thinking about how very soon, my youngest brother will be leaving to serve a mission for our church for two years. No more late nights with the three of us (him, husband and I) watching movies, playing video games and eating queso at kerbey lane until all hours of the night. No more telling and embellishing on the ridiculous stories we make up, it will be very sad but  he will being doing something so much more important, something so great I don’t have the words to explain how my heart feels. He is a great kid and I will miss him greatly but my heart is full of joy for the decision he’s made and the hard work he will put forth and is putting forth to prepare. I’m so proud of you my brother. Go and serve the Lord and we will be waiting for you when you return. I love you.

So on another note, Thanksgiving is upon us. That’s usually a time for flying home to family or friends and sharing this wonderful time with others. My husband and I are still in NC on business so this Thanksgiving will be my first ever away from all my family and friends, it will definitely be different but we will be together, so for that I’m thankful.

So how will you spend this thanksgiving? Are you traveling to be with loved ones? Are they coming to you? What kinds of traditions do you have?

Either way, enjoy it!

 

 

One Response to “Coming Or Going”

  1. britika November 24, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    aw how sweet…planes make me sad too for some reason

Leave a Reply

