I Want To Be An Astronaut When I Grow Up

18 Nov

Well, this week has been fun! This is the last baby craft, so I hope its been as fun for you as it has for me!

On Thursday, I went to the grand opening of the Joanns here in Charlotte and I found this super cute fabric that inspired the title of this post. I pretty much fell in love with it, from the moment I saw it. It’s so cute! (insert girlish scream here) Anyway enough of that.

So I decided to make and decorate a diaper wipes case. I referred to this tutorial here just to make sure I was doing it right, it’s very easy and you’ll love the end results. So here’s my “I Want To Be An Astronaut When I Grow Up” diaper wipes case!

Now don’t you just want to carry that around even if you don’t have a baby!

Wink wink, no I won’t be doing that, I promise.

So you interested in making one?
Well if you are, here’s what you need:

Fabric (not much, just enough to cover a diaper wipes case)
Diaper Wipes Case
Some sort of Decorative Trim
Glue Gun and Glue Sticks
Couple Sheets of Felt (In her tutorial she used batting and that probably made things nice and fluffy. I had extra felt so I just used that and it worked fine. I did use two sheets on the top just make it a little more plush.)

Supplies

Step One

Trace bottom and top of diaper wipes case and cut them out. I did two for the top.

Step Two

Glue all your felt down.

Step Three

Glue the fabric down on top of the felt.

Step Four

Once you’ve glued the top and bottom fabric down, go around and glue all the edges down. Like she says in her tutorial, it’s okay if the edges look raggedy and raw, the trim will cover that.

Step Five

Glue your trim down on top and bottom and voila! Your done and it’s amazing how awesome it looks just as soon as you add the trim. It makes a world of difference!

Well that concludes baby week and now you are all prepared to make your little loved ones lots of goodies!

So no excuses, craft away! 🙂

6 Responses to “I Want To Be An Astronaut When I Grow Up”

  1. britika November 18, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    gorgeous! yes i do want to carry one even though I don’t have a baby. Such cute fabric, make me want to do a boy’s nursery in astronaut theme. Overall just plain cute!

  2. Nallyh November 18, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Thanx, so fun huh!!! 🙂

  3. My Grandmother's Gucci November 21, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    Cute idea! Very creative.

    Caitlin
    http://www.my-grandmothers-gucci.blogspot.com

    • nallyh November 21, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanx Caitlin!

  4. Michelle November 30, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    I’m so glad I found your blog! I live in Charlotte, and I didn’t even know they opened a Jo-Ann’s here. Thanks for the heads up! And I sympathize with you being in a hotel, away from home, during a holiday. We were in Mexico for our honeymoon during Thanksgiving week when we were married, and I’ve never felt so homesick, even with my wonderful husband with me. There really IS no place like home for the holidays, but I hope your stay in Charlotte is a happy one!

    • nallyh November 30, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

      Now you can go spend a fortune there, like I have! he he he My stay here has been wonderful, just hard during the holidays, but charlotte is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

