A Little Book Of Firsts

17 Nov

I think every mom out there wants to document her child’s big firsts: crawling, walking, food, haircut, bath, etc. Also, there are a lot of moms who don’t have time to throw together an enormous, full 12X12 glossy picture filled scrapbook, so I made a book of firsts that any mom would have time to do and it turned out really cute!

So literally this little notebook is probably the size of my hand.

I used every page and all it has is a spot for the date and an adorable little 3D sticker of “the firsts.” Some pages at the very bottom have an extra line for what the first was, example food has a spot to write what the first food was.

Interested in making one? Here’s what you need:

Little Notebook
Any Color Scrapbook Paper (and one more if you want a pinwheel)
Black Sharpie or Marker
Pack of Baby Stickers (one that has the firsts on them. I got mine at Michaels and it was the K and Company Brand)
Brads (if you want a pinwheel on the front)

Supplies

Okay so I don’t really have steps for this, just some pictures so you can see how I did it. For the front I just glued a piece of cardstock to the notebook and then on the very first page I put my nephews name, date, weight, height, etc.

Oh the note book is a flip book and the reason I chose that is because I wanted the back of every page left blank so that his mother can put a picture of him there so it corresponds with the sticker on each page. That sounds confusing, I’ll show you.

So if you can see here, this sticker says first tooth and I left the back of the one before it blank so that she can put a picture of his big toothy grin when he finally gets a tooth. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s a couple other random shots of the book:

ย ย 

Like I mentioned earlier, all the pages are the same, date, sticker and then two of them (food and word) have the line at the bottom to be more specific.

So there you have it, the easiest “My Firsts” book ever!

Oh and if you don’t know how to make a pinwheel and are interested in having one of those on the front of your book, because they’re so cute, vintagy and are very in right now, then your in luck, here are the steps:

Step One

Trace a perfect square onto a piece of paper, any size you want and cut it out.

(the bigger the square the easier it is to make.)

Step Two

Draw straight lines from each corner and bring them very close to the center but not all the way in. Also, mine, in this picture is very sloppy, make sure all the lines go the same distance and that some aren’t shorter or longer than others. Also, use a pencil so that you can’t see the lines, I used a fine sharpie just for an example.

Step Three

Cut on all four lines. I curled mine up a little just so you could see the slits.

Step Four

Poke a little hole in the tip of the right side of every triangle and one hole in the center. Place your brad in one hole and bring the other three to the brad. Then after all four corners are pushed onto brad, put brad through center hole and close it.

and here you have a finished pinwheel.

For a pinwheel this big I would of bought bigger brads to hide the second point thats sticking out or I would clip it off. Really you only want to see the last point, but if you forget like I did, it still looks nice.

Part of the reason I put this tutorial in here is because if you’ve never made one and didn’t know how, then you must learn. There are so many fun pinwheel tutorials out there. I’ve made fabric hair bow pinwheels, you can make garland or actual pinwheels on sticks, I’ve seen baby mobiles and all kinds of other goodies. Well now you know how to make one and you can put one on the front of your baby’s “firsts” book and anything else!

Go pinwheel crazy!

2 Responses to “A Little Book Of Firsts”

  1. Britika November 17, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    this is such a cute idea! I’m def making one of these for my kids, I know years later i will be so happy I have way to look back at all their firsts ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for sharing

    • nallyh November 17, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Yep! No problem, it was lots of fun to make and so easy, you could make a couple of them while you sit and watch a chic flick! Or at least thats what I did. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

