Make Something Monday

17 Oct

So I’m cheating a little bit, I pretty much planned to only do crafts on make something monday, but today I was going to do something a little different. I did make it though, I promise. So I have a confession, I’m like the worst cook ever and almost never spend anytime in the kitchen. I know, my lucky husband. He’s wonderful though and never says anything. I’m blessed.

However, surprise I’m going to share a recipe with you that my friend taught me. She grew up in Croatia, and moved to the US as a girl. Her mother would make this cake at least once a year (Christmas time) and sometimes more. So she gave me the recipe and we made it together. It’s delicious so I thought I would share it with all of you!

 

I really like this cake because the bottom is literally very simple and plain, almost just a nutty bread. It’s not sweet at all, but the filling is very sweet so it’s nice having the two to cancel each other. The bottom keeps it from being too sweet, however warning the filling is still very sweet! I love it!

Ingredients:

Cake

6 Eggs
6 tbsp Pecans
6 tbsp Flour
1/2 Packet Baking Powder

Grind pecans to a powder. My friend used this little grinding machine I’ve never seen before but I’m going to assume a coffee grinder would work just the same. You just want the pecans to be a powder, literally. Mix dry ingredients first, then wet. She put parchment paper in the pan, then poured in the mixture and baked.

Bake on 400 for 4-5 min then turn oven down to 370 for 15 min.

While cake is baking, prepare filling.

Ingredients:

Filling

200 g. Pecans
200 g. Powdered Sugar
150 g. unsalted butter (I think thats roughly 1 cube, but double check)
300 g. Lane (1 box) This is a product from their country. She gets it from an international store, all it is crushed/powdered lane biscuits. She said any dry biscuit cookie should work. You just have to crush it all to a powder. Here’s a picture of ground lane in case you now of a bosnian/croatian international store, I was thinking maybe Whole Foods might have it to.

1 Egg Yolk
1 Cup of Orange Juice (No pulp)
2 tbsp Nutella (hers were rather heaping spoons but do it to your taste, so that its not too sweet or can be really sweet)

Mix dry ingredients first then add wet. Next take your cake out of the oven. After it’s cooled a little, grab parchment paper thats sticking out and pull cake out of the pan. Put in on some sort of plate or surface that will allow you to frost the sides also. Once you have the cake on the plate and parchment paper peeled off, spritz or sprinkle cake with orange juice. I would recommend using a spray bottle. Don’t drench just moisten the cake.

Now you can spread your filling all over the cake. You should have two layers now.

Final layer.

Ingredients:

1 large tub of Whipping Cream
Bar of chocolate (optional milk or dark)

Easy enough, Spread whipping cream all over the cake. Cover completely, top and all four sides. Then it’s up to you if you want to grate chocolate over the top. You can use milk or Β dark chocolate, it doesn’t change the taste hardly at all, but its very pretty!

Refridgerate 2-3 hours or until cake is cold

I hope that wasn’t too confusing with the international ingredients. I hope I’ll be able to make it again once I’m home and substituting the lane, because it’s very good! Here’s a final picture of the whole cake so you can see what it looks like.

Good Luck Ya’ll! Let me know how it turns out!

 

8 Responses to “Make Something Monday”

  1. Jordan October 17, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Looks really good πŸ™‚ Love your blog btw!

  2. frugalfeeding October 17, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    Delicious looking cake!

    • nallyh October 17, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      Thanx and it really is too! πŸ™‚

  3. kate October 17, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    wow that looks so yummy! great job!

    • nallyh October 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

      Thanx, it really is delicious, but then again I love nutella! πŸ™‚

  4. Erica October 20, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    YUM . . . LOVE getting new recipes – thank you for sharing!

    • nallyh October 20, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Oh me too, I hardly ever cook and I still love collecting recipes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

