Thankful Thursday… and a Surprise

13 Oct

Is it just me or did this week fly by, Thursday again! So what are you guys thankful for today? I’m going with fall. Austin doesn’t have much of a fall, so seeing all these colors in NC is awesome!

 

Look at those reds and yellows!

I’m also thankful for Pinterest, which by the way, I’ve been working on my boards and will be ready to share them soon.

York Peppermint Patties or really anything with dark chocolate and mint!

and lastly, I’m thankful for Harry Potter! So let’s take a look at my surprise:

That’s right, I made myself a firebolt so I can fly home and see my nephew, whose coming SOON!

Do you like it? Wanna make one?

Well if you do, here’s what you need:

Paint Brush (If you want)
Small wooden dowels
Brown Paint
Aluminum Jewelry Wire
Branches (you can buy them or literally just collect them from outside. I bought a little nest from Michael’s for $1 just because it’s been really rainy and I didn’t want to get soaked but either one will work.)

Step One:

Here’s everything I used. I forgot to buy a paint brush, so I just dipped the wooden dowel in the bottle. I did one side, let it dry and then the other. It takes longer this way, but it works.

Step Two:

Cut aluminum wire  and branches to the size you prefer.

Step Three:

Gather branches around wooden dowel, hold firmly and wrap aluminum tightly around branches. The last wrap around I left the aluminum sticking up slightly so I had a place to attach a hook. It actually hangs very well. I made a fake little hook and you can’t tell but I am holding the broom in the air and it keeps straight very well! I’m excited about my firebolt, it’s SO easy to make!

Good Luck!

6 Responses to “Thankful Thursday… and a Surprise”

  1. Britika October 13, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    Oh my goodness this is so awesome! I love all your harry potter crafts…I feel like I could just make them all and deck out my library with harry potter stuff! I love this, its so creative too! Cute Cute CUTE!

    • nallyh October 14, 2011 at 12:58 am #

      Oh thank you! Do it girlie, deck your library out! 🙂

  2. Jeyna Grace October 13, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    At a glance on the first picture of the broom, I thought it was large enough to ride it! HAHA! Nice one though!

    • nallyh October 14, 2011 at 12:56 am #

      Ha ha, Love it! No it’s only about the length of my palm. You had me laughing though! 🙂

  3. Thu October 13, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    hahaha – love the broom DIY. So cute. I love the Autumn photo with the colorful leaves, Autumn is def. my fave color. Thanks for sharing.

    http://justtututiny.blogspot.com/
    Thu

    • nallyh October 14, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      Thanx! I agree, Autumn is just a lovely time of the year! I’m loving all the colors here in NC!

Leave a Reply

