Make Something Monday

26 Sep

Hi Guys!

Well, surprise surprise, I’m still here in Charlotte NC so that does make the crafting kind of hard to do, but I got a little something for ya anyway. I’ve noticed there has been a lot of jersey knit necklaces all over the web lately so I thought I’d take a stab at it. Because I’m traveling I don’t have any of my old t-shirts with me, but Michaels has started selling the jersey knit pre-cut fabric strips so of course I grabbed at a chance to skip the worst step, cutting. They have several different colors and plenty of length, you’ll probably end up with extra that you can make a dog toy out of. Which is exactly what I did. Aladdin is going nuts over it and all I did was tie a knot in the middle of the leftover strips.

Here’s what you need:

Scissors
Pre-cut jersey fabric or old t-shirt

Sorry about the pictures, I don’t have my camera with me, just my iphone and bad lighting in the hotel. : )

Okay if you cut your own then your ready to go, if you buy pre-cut then you have to cut one end open because it comes in a loop.

Tie a knot on one end. This will make it much easier to braid.

and start braiding to desired length.

I failed to take a picture of the step before this. All I did was take one strand of the pink and wrap it around the necklace three times and tie off the braided part so it doesn’t unravel. Then I twisted the material a little bit and Ta Da you got yourself a $4 necklace that is awesome. Also, there are so many variations of these necklaces on the internet so you don’t have to do it this way if your not a fan of the braid. I got this design from a pinterest picture, sadly I couldn’t find it again so I wasn’t able to give credit, where credits due, but obviously I loved it!

Also, sorry about the lack of makeup. I was just lazy today.

One Response to “Make Something Monday”

  1. britika September 27, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    Oh this is sooo cute! totally awesome, i can’t believe you made it…good color choices too, very cute, i can’t wait to try making one myself now 🙂

Leave a Reply

