Safari

31 Aug

Okay, so because I’m still on the move, I can’t seem to share any crafts with you so I thought I’d pull something I made a bit ago and just share it. It was actually the first thing I ever sewed because I’m a very new seamstress so sorry if this seems terribly easy. So I made a receiving blanket, but I wanted it to be much larger than the normal ones, I supposed its more of a tummy time blanket. Here’s my very easy tutorial:

I chose a cute safari/giraffe print and the back side is like a golden yellow/tan color. If there are any of you that don’t know how to sew at all, this is SO easy.

You need:

2 yards of fabric, cordinating or same color. Whatever you prefer.

Thread of your choice

Wash and dry both pieces of fabric so that they pre shrinks.

Iron wrinkles out.

Lay right sides together and pin.

Sew all the way around leaving a hole about the size of your hand.

Inside out the blanket, iron again just to smooth things and get it to lay pretty.

Start sewing right where the hole is and all the way around again.

Ta Da, now you have a lovely gift for a shower or for your own little ones. Super easy, I promise.

For those of you who do know how to sew, go easy on me. I don’t know my sewing terms and I’m sure I’m breaking all the rules but hey it turned out and I’m excited and proud of myself.

Enjoy your Wednesday!

3 Responses to “Safari”

  1. Tori September 1, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    Good job on your first project! I’ve been sewing for about 3 years now and I get so excited everytime I complete a new project(I’m self taught also)! Keep up the good thevgood work! πŸ™‚

    • nallyh September 1, 2011 at 2:25 am #

      Thank you, I’m trying and will continue to keep trying. It’s so much fun, I’m just very slow at it right now.

  2. Britika September 1, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    Oh this is awesome, I love the safari look match you made, thanks for the tutorial I’m going to try and make one too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

